Search Website:

Elk Management Tours

Loading Events

« All Events

Elk Management Tours

September 11 @ 5:30 am - October 24 @ 8:00 pm

$30.00

Elk are making a comeback in West Virginia after a more than 100-year absence, and you can see these incredible animals up close in their natural habitat.

Our guided elk viewing tours are the best way to learn about West Virginia’s elk management history and what the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources is doing to ensure the growing elk herd thrives in its new home.

Tours start at Chief Logan Lodge, and spots fill up quickly, so make your reservation as soon as possible. While there is no guarantee of seeing or hearing elk, park naturalist and tour leader Lauren Cole makes these tours a fun experience you won’t want to miss!

Elk Management Tour Schedule

MORNING TOURS  (Morning tours begin at 5:30 a.m. and last four hours)

  • Saturday, Sept. 11
  • Sunday, Sept. 12
  • Saturday, Sept. 25
  • Sunday, Sept. 26
  • Saturday, Oct. 9
  • Sunday, Oct. 10
  • Saturday, Oct. 16
  • Sunday, Oct. 17
  • Saturday, Oct. 23
  • Sunday, Oct. 24

EVENING TOURS (evening tours begin at 4 p.m. and last four hours) 

  • Sunday, Sept. 19
  • Thursday, Sept. 23
  • Saturday, Sept. 25
  • Sunday, Sept. 26
  • Thursday, Sept. 30
  • Sunday, Oct. 3
  • Saturday, Oct. 9
  • Sunday, Oct. 10
  • Saturday, Oct. 16
  • Sunday, Oct. 17
  • Saturday, Oct. 23
  • Sunday, Oct. 24

Transportation, breakfast or snack, guide and support staff, interpretive presentation, and a souvenir are all included in the $30 price.  Closed-toed, sturdy footwear and long pants are recommended. Scented products, such as perfume and cologne, are discouraged

Age RestrictionsTours are only available to guests age 12 and up.

Other restrictions: Guests are not permitted to bring food or pets.

Details

Start:
September 11 @ 5:30 am
End:
October 24 @ 8:00 pm
Cost:
$30.00
Event Tags:
, , ,
Website:
https://wvstateparks.com/things-to-do/elk-management-tours

Venue

Chief Logan Lodge & Conference Center
1000 Conference Center Drive
Logan, WV 25601 United States
Phone:
304-855-6100

Organizer

Chief Logan State Park
Phone:
304-792-7125
Website:
www.chiefloganstatepark.com